New: DynamicFieldITSMConfigItem & DynamicFieldRemoteDB

English! place to talk about OTRS development, programming and coding

Moderator: tto

User avatar
brann
OTRS wizard
Posts: 115
Joined: 14 Nov 2011, 10:11
OTRS Version?: 3.3.x
Real Name: Anna Brakoniecka
Company: c.a.p.e. IT GmbH
Contact:

New: DynamicFieldITSMConfigItem & DynamicFieldRemoteDB

Postby brann » 21 Mar 2014, 11:35

New free OTRS-modules (free modules) for OTRS 3.3

- DynamicFieldITSMConfigItem => Dynamic Field with reference to an ITSM Config Item

- DynamicFieldRemoteDB => Dynamic Field with reference to a value from an external database

http://www.cape-it.de/en/download/free- ... dules.html

download from our website or from OPAR

Please note: It's not required to have installed KIX4OTRS, so you can use it for standard OTRS systems, as well.

RStraub
OTRS guru
Posts: 2049
Joined: 13 Mar 2014, 09:16
OTRS Version?: 5.0.14
Real Name: Rolf Straub

Re: New: DynamicFieldITSMConfigItem & DynamicFieldRemoteDB

Postby RStraub » 21 Mar 2014, 12:41

This is awesome. Funny coincidence, right when this post was made I was in a meeting on how we'd customize our installation to enable this functionality.

Thanks a bunch!
Currently using: OTRS 5.0.14 -- MariaDB -- Ubuntu 16 LTS

RStraub
OTRS guru
Posts: 2049
Joined: 13 Mar 2014, 09:16
OTRS Version?: 5.0.14
Real Name: Rolf Straub

Re: New: DynamicFieldITSMConfigItem & DynamicFieldRemoteDB

Postby RStraub » 21 Mar 2014, 13:06

Only one quirk:

Is it possible to configure the field in a way such that it is sortable in the TicketOverViewStatus/Queue?

So far we enjoyed the option to have dynamic dropdown menus be sortable - which is not the case with these new fields.

Best regards,
Rolf
Currently using: OTRS 5.0.14 -- MariaDB -- Ubuntu 16 LTS

reneeb
OTRS guru
Posts: 4337
Joined: 13 Mar 2011, 09:54
OTRS Version?: 3.3.x
Company: Perl-Services.de
Contact:

Re: New: DynamicFieldITSMConfigItem & DynamicFieldRemoteDB

Postby reneeb » 21 Mar 2014, 13:11

Nice, thanks for your contributions. This looks great!
Perl / OTRS development: http://perl-services.de
Free OTRS add ons from the community: http://opar.perl-services.de
Commercial add ons: http://feature-addons.de

User avatar
tto
Moderator
Posts: 315
Joined: 09 Jan 2007, 15:24
OTRS Version?: OTRS 5.0.x
Real Name: Torsten
Company: c.a.p.e. IT GmbH
Location: Chemnitz
Contact:

Re: New: DynamicFieldITSMConfigItem & DynamicFieldRemoteDB

Postby tto » 21 Mar 2014, 15:47

RStraub wrote:Is it possible to configure the field in a way such that it is sortable in the TicketOverViewStatus/Queue?


This should already be possible, but it depends on the value that you selected as key.

regards, tto
--
KIX 17.x (fork of OTRS)
Professional KIX-, or OTRS-integration, development and consulting by c.a.p.e. IT - http://www.cape-it.de
For questions and hints regarding KIX(4OTRS) please go to https://forum.kixdesk.com/
Bei Fragen und Hinweisen zu KIX(4OTRS) bitte an https://forum.kixdesk.com/ wenden.

RStraub
OTRS guru
Posts: 2049
Joined: 13 Mar 2014, 09:16
OTRS Version?: 5.0.14
Real Name: Rolf Straub

Re: New: DynamicFieldITSMConfigItem & DynamicFieldRemoteDB

Postby RStraub » 21 Mar 2014, 16:14

tto wrote:
RStraub wrote:Is it possible to configure the field in a way such that it is sortable in the TicketOverViewStatus/Queue?


This should already be possible, but it depends on the value that you selected as key.

regards, tto


Could you please elaborate what qualifies a key as sortable?
Currently we want to link Software CIs and we wrote the software version in the name (e.g. PRODUCT - VERSION). In the CMDB tab the name column is sortable, but not via the reference field.

And again: This addon is superb, the sorting thing would be a bonus :)

Best regards,
Rolf
Currently using: OTRS 5.0.14 -- MariaDB -- Ubuntu 16 LTS

User avatar
tto
Moderator
Posts: 315
Joined: 09 Jan 2007, 15:24
OTRS Version?: OTRS 5.0.x
Real Name: Torsten
Company: c.a.p.e. IT GmbH
Location: Chemnitz
Contact:

Re: New: DynamicFieldITSMConfigItem & DynamicFieldRemoteDB

Postby tto » 22 Mar 2014, 10:35

RStraub wrote:Could you please elaborate what qualifies a key as sortable?
Currently we want to link Software CIs and we wrote the software version in the name (e.g. PRODUCT - VERSION). In the CMDB tab the name column is sortable, but not via the reference field.

And again: This addon is superb, the sorting thing would be a bonus :)


...oh sorry, I thought you were asking about the DBReference-field. Sorry, in ITSMReference there is no sorting available. The search result is showed as the ConfigItem-Search returns it without any sorting.

But if you need some bonus: check out the auto link event "Ticket::EventModulePost###ITSMConfigItemLinkAdd" which automatically links the ticket with the CI. :-)

regards, T.
--
KIX 17.x (fork of OTRS)
Professional KIX-, or OTRS-integration, development and consulting by c.a.p.e. IT - http://www.cape-it.de
For questions and hints regarding KIX(4OTRS) please go to https://forum.kixdesk.com/
Bei Fragen und Hinweisen zu KIX(4OTRS) bitte an https://forum.kixdesk.com/ wenden.

RStraub
OTRS guru
Posts: 2049
Joined: 13 Mar 2014, 09:16
OTRS Version?: 5.0.14
Real Name: Rolf Straub

Re: New: DynamicFieldITSMConfigItem & DynamicFieldRemoteDB

Postby RStraub » 24 Mar 2014, 18:28

Again - awesome :) Thanks alot!
Currently using: OTRS 5.0.14 -- MariaDB -- Ubuntu 16 LTS

jlima
OTRS newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: 03 Jul 2014, 13:48
OTRS Version?: 5.0.16
Real Name: Jorge Lima
Location: Braga, Portugal

Re: New: DynamicFieldITSMConfigItem & DynamicFieldRemoteDB

Postby jlima » 09 Sep 2014, 16:23

Hi
I think that this add-on is what I need but the manual is in German. Can you summarize I need to put it to work?
What configurations do I need to change? How do I connect it to a DB to get data?
thanks in advance
jlima
OTRS 5.0.16 (public/testing) on Linux with Postgres database

User avatar
tto
Moderator
Posts: 315
Joined: 09 Jan 2007, 15:24
OTRS Version?: OTRS 5.0.x
Real Name: Torsten
Company: c.a.p.e. IT GmbH
Location: Chemnitz
Contact:

Re: New: DynamicFieldITSMConfigItem & DynamicFieldRemoteDB

Postby tto » 09 Sep 2014, 16:50

jlima wrote:Hi
I think that this add-on is what I need but the manual is in German. Can you summarize I need to put it to work?
What configurations do I need to change? How do I connect it to a DB to get data?


In order to configure such a field, get your database connectivity params (host, user, pw, etc.) and install possibly required perl packages (like DBD:Pg). Then just create a dynamic field and configure it's parameters according to the DB-table/-view you want to access. The help text, esp. for the mandatory fields, should be quite clear - some may need additional information:

key-row: value that is stored in OTRS
value-row: value that is displayed when viewing the field (similar to drop-down or multi-select dynamic field)
database search column: may be a different column than value or key - depends on your use case

regards, T.
--
KIX 17.x (fork of OTRS)
Professional KIX-, or OTRS-integration, development and consulting by c.a.p.e. IT - http://www.cape-it.de
For questions and hints regarding KIX(4OTRS) please go to https://forum.kixdesk.com/
Bei Fragen und Hinweisen zu KIX(4OTRS) bitte an https://forum.kixdesk.com/ wenden.

jlima
OTRS newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: 03 Jul 2014, 13:48
OTRS Version?: 5.0.16
Real Name: Jorge Lima
Location: Braga, Portugal

Re: New: DynamicFieldITSMConfigItem & DynamicFieldRemoteDB

Postby jlima » 09 Sep 2014, 19:20

it rocks!

major dificulty was figuring out that the dsn for postgres is
DBI:Pg:database=otrs;host=localhost;

now I can create a view and point the dynamic field to that view and voilá

thank you for the add-on
OTRS 5.0.16 (public/testing) on Linux with Postgres database

pgold30
OTRS newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: 19 May 2015, 16:55
OTRS Version?: 4.0.7
Real Name: Pablo
Company: -

Re: New: DynamicFieldITSMConfigItem & DynamicFieldRemoteDB

Postby pgold30 » 05 Jun 2015, 19:14

Hi there! , im trying this add on but i cant get the dyn field show anywhere
this is the screen with the dyn field config
snapshot1.png

Where is this dyn field showed?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
tto
Moderator
Posts: 315
Joined: 09 Jan 2007, 15:24
OTRS Version?: OTRS 5.0.x
Real Name: Torsten
Company: c.a.p.e. IT GmbH
Location: Chemnitz
Contact:

Re: New: DynamicFieldITSMConfigItem & DynamicFieldRemoteDB

Postby tto » 05 Jun 2015, 20:35

pgold30 wrote:Hi there! , im trying this add on but i cant get the dyn field show anywhere
this is the screen with the dyn field config
snapshot1.png

Where is this dyn field showed?



...just like any other dynamicfield. Go to SysConfig and enable the field for input or view e.g. AgentTicketZoom###DynamicField or similar.

Regards, T.
--
KIX 17.x (fork of OTRS)
Professional KIX-, or OTRS-integration, development and consulting by c.a.p.e. IT - http://www.cape-it.de
For questions and hints regarding KIX(4OTRS) please go to https://forum.kixdesk.com/
Bei Fragen und Hinweisen zu KIX(4OTRS) bitte an https://forum.kixdesk.com/ wenden.

gtsak
OTRS newbie
Posts: 18
Joined: 19 Apr 2017, 12:54
OTRS Version?: 5.0.12

Re: New: DynamicFieldITSMConfigItem & DynamicFieldRemoteDB

Postby gtsak » 06 Jun 2017, 12:10

hello,

i created a dynamic field too, as shown in the picture above, but it doesn't appear in the AgentTicketZoom###DynamicFields so that i can change its value to 1 or 2.

Why is that? should i do anything else?

I have noticed that these kind of dynamic fields dont have the window "DynamicFieldSysConfig Settings" as shown in the picture.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
tto
Moderator
Posts: 315
Joined: 09 Jan 2007, 15:24
OTRS Version?: OTRS 5.0.x
Real Name: Torsten
Company: c.a.p.e. IT GmbH
Location: Chemnitz
Contact:

Re: New: DynamicFieldITSMConfigItem & DynamicFieldRemoteDB

Postby tto » 02 Oct 2017, 08:14

gtsak wrote:hello,

i created a dynamic field too, as shown in the picture above, but it doesn't appear in the AgentTicketZoom###DynamicFields so that i can change its value to 1 or 2.

Why is that? should i do anything else?

I have noticed that these kind of dynamic fields dont have the window "DynamicFieldSysConfig Settings" as shown in the picture.


...some dynamic field types are not considered in this presentation. If the selection apears at all then AgentTicketZoom is available. "1" means that you mark AgentTicketZoom in box 1, "2" means that is also marked in box 2. However, you may just go to the sysconfig setting " AgentTicketZoom###DynamicFields" on your own and enable the dynamic fields there as known from OTRS. The selection boxes you screenshot shows are actually just for convenience.

regards, T.
--
KIX 17.x (fork of OTRS)
Professional KIX-, or OTRS-integration, development and consulting by c.a.p.e. IT - http://www.cape-it.de
For questions and hints regarding KIX(4OTRS) please go to https://forum.kixdesk.com/
Bei Fragen und Hinweisen zu KIX(4OTRS) bitte an https://forum.kixdesk.com/ wenden.


Return to “OTRS Developers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests