rajbps
Znuny newbie
Znuny Version: 3.3.3
Company: Business Park Solutions Ltd

OTR upgrade path

Post by rajbps »

Hi Team,

I have otrs 5.0.7 installed on centos7.

Can anyone advise on how to upgrade from 5.0.7 to 5.0.9 please.
Sorry I am a newbie at otrs and detailed steps would be great.

Regards,

Rajbps
Giulio Soleni
Znuny wizard
Znuny Version: 6.0.x and 5.0.x
Company: IKS srl

Re: OTR upgrade path

Post by Giulio Soleni »

Hi rajbps,
updating from a minor to another minor version should not be a great issue and first of all I would suggest to wait a little bit more since version 5.0.9 has been released a month ago and I think that a new version is coming very soon.
Anyhow, you may take https://otrs.github.io/doc/manual/admin ... ading.html as a leading guide, but you may safely skip some steps like the database upgrade.

Considering more in details the main steps should be:
1. take a backup of the present system (you should use /opt/otrs/scripts/backup.pl command)

2. run a yum update to start the upgrade process on a CentOS updated system

3. Stop all relevant services
su -c "/opt/otrs/bin/otrs.Daemon.pl stop" -s /bin/bash otrs
su -c "/opt/otrs/bin/Cron.sh stop" -s /bin/bash otrs This may fail (since it should be already stopped by the previous one)
su -c "/opt/otrs/bin/otrs.Console.pl Maint::Cache::Delete" -s /bin/bash otrs
su -c "/opt/otrs/bin/otrs.Console.pl Maint::Session::DeleteAll" -s /bin/bash otrs
su -c "/opt/otrs/bin/otrs.Console.pl Maint::Loader::CacheCleanup" -s /bin/bash otrs
su -c "/opt/otrs/bin/otrs.Console.pl Maint::Loader::CacheGenerate" -s /bin/bash otrs
systemctl stop httpd.service
systemctl stop crond.service

4. check system date (optional but suggested)
systemctl stop ntpd
ntpdate pool.ntp.org >>> or your internal ntp server
systemctl start ntpd
systemctl status ntpd

5. define some provisional folders, take some important backups and download the new OTRS rpm package
mkdir -p /otrs_bck/ver5.0.9/custom/
mkdir -p /otrs_bck/ver5.0.9/orig/