Allow non-admins to manage Customers, Companies and more

Dont create your support topics here! No new topics with questions allowed!

Moderator: crythias

User avatar
Mothra
OTRS wizard
Posts: 189
Joined: 26 Oct 2010, 15:04
OTRS Version?: 3.2.11

Allow non-admins to manage Customers, Companies and more

Postby Mothra » 13 Jan 2011, 13:03

First create a new group called something like "basic admin". Anyone added to this group is going to have access to a subset of the normal Admin functions.

In SysConfig, go to Framework -> Frontend::Admin::ModuleRegistration

In here you should be able to recognise how each module equates to the admin areas you will have been used to using. The easiest ones to give access to are Customer and Company as, in OTRS, these appear in the main menu, alongside "Dashboard" and "Ticket".

Frontend::Module###AdminCustomerUser
Frontend::Module###AdminCustomerCompany

For each one, in the Group section at the top, click the plus button and add "basic admin". This gives users in that group read/write access to that module.

For any other modules, i.e. those that are only accessible by clicking on the "Admin" button, you need to make the Admin button available first. The safest way to do this is to give read-only access to the Admin Module itself:

Frontend::Module###Admin

Do this by clicking the plus button under Group ro: for this module.

Then proceed to grant read/write to any other remaining modules, such as:

Frontend::Module###AdminCustomerUserGroup
Frontend::Module###AdminCustomerUserService
OTRS 3.2.11 on Centos 6.4 with MySQL 5.0. Agents and internal customers authenticate via Active Directory.

User avatar
crythias
Moderator
Posts: 9920
Joined: 04 May 2010, 18:38
OTRS Version?: 4.0.x
Location: SouthWest Florida, USA
Contact:

Re: Allow non-admins to manage Customers, Companies and more

Postby crythias » 15 Jan 2011, 03:11

Isn't it possible to just set the agent as rw on users group?
OTRS 4.0.x (private/testing/public) on Linux with MySQL database. Also on github.
Please edit your signature to include your OTRS version, Operating System, and database type.
Click Subscribe Topic below to get notifications. Consider amending your topic title to include [SOLVED] if it is so.
Need help? Before you ask

maureliosilverio
OTRS newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: 25 Aug 2011, 19:22
OTRS Version?: 3
Real Name: Marcos Aurélio Silvério
Company: Suntech

Re: Allow non-admins to manage Customers, Companies and more

Postby maureliosilverio » 30 Sep 2011, 22:58

Is there a way to separate by queue?
Example: Agent01 has RW access to Support queue, he only can manage the users from that queue...
OTRS 3.0.8 and ITSM 3.0.4 on Ubuntu Server 10.0.4.3 (running on Citrix XenServer)

sj89
OTRS newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: 03 Feb 2012, 12:12
OTRS Version?: 3.0.11
Real Name: SJ
Company: Sybrid

Re: Allow non-admins to manage Customers, Companies and more

Postby sj89 » 27 Feb 2012, 10:50

Hi, i tried this and i lost all the permission even the root would not login gives me error

Code: Select all

Insufficient Rights
Message: No Permission to use this frontend module
!

Please Help

Thanks

P.S am using Centos with 3.1.0-rc1
OTRS 3.1 on Centos with MySQL database PHP Apache Server

stephanej
OTRS newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: 19 Jun 2015, 23:16
OTRS Version?: 3.3.12

Re: Allow non-admins to manage Customers, Companies and more

Postby stephanej » 05 Jul 2015, 23:28

Yes if you set RW access to the users group it will work as the "users" is already selected in the "group" section of the Frontend::Module###AdminCustomerUser
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

stephanej
OTRS newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: 19 Jun 2015, 23:16
OTRS Version?: 3.3.12

Re: Allow non-admins to manage Customers, Companies and more

Postby stephanej » 05 Jul 2015, 23:30

I have the same question to allow non admins to access "processes" and dynamic fields. Can it be done?

James017
OTRS newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: 07 Nov 2015, 12:51
OTRS Version?: aaaaa
Real Name: aaaaa
Company: aaaaa

Re: Allow non-admins to manage Customers, Companies and more

Postby James017 » 07 Nov 2015, 12:57

index 8 (last entry after read-only "0") if it exists, will be used for "target" of html. "_blank" opens new page/new window, for instance.???
Ali


Return to “Howtos”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest