Installing OTRS 4.0.7 on Windows Server 2012 R2, IIS 8.5

Moderator: crythias

turnip
Znuny newbie
Znuny Version: 4.0.7

Installing OTRS 4.0.7 on Windows Server 2012 R2, IIS 8.5

Post by turnip »

I've been using OTRS on CentOS/Apache for 7 years until last month. I got tired of Linux and the need to maintain two separate VMs (Linux & Windows), so I decided to move OTRS, phpBB and as my main .NET website to Windows Server 2012 R2 running IIS 8.5.

I was disappointed to learn that otrs.com doesn't seem to support OTRS on Windows anymore and offers an "appliance" instead. I already had a kind of Linux appliance, and I found it hard to manage in the long term. Besides, it's much more convenient to have just Windows with a single IP address, with OTRS and phpBB located at website.com\otrs and website.com\forum. So I proceeded with my plan and am very satisfied with the result. OTRS on Windows runs faster than my old Linux installation.

I'd like to share my experience, in the hope that otrs.com will reconsider its stance on Windows.

(to be continued)
Nick
jojo
Znuny guru
Znuny Version: Git Master

Re: Installing OTRS 4.0.7 on Windows Server 2012 R2, IIS 8.5

Post by jojo »

There are several (non OTRS) issues with Perl webapplications on windows.
  • No stable setup for Apache + mod_perl
  • PerlEx (needs Active State Perl Licence) for IIS seems EOL
  • Slower than on the same hardware with Linux
  • bad debugging for IIS
Some OTRS specific issues
  • Mails can only be handled by direct smtp
  • Slower than on the same hardware with Linux
  • updates are more difficult
  • less stable on load
Your setup seems to be quite small, so actually it might be working on windows. My experience with OTRS on the different platforms are that Windows is not suitable.
"Production": OTRS™ 8, OTRS™ 7, STORM powered by OTRS
"Testing": ((OTRS Community Edition)) and git Master

Never change Defaults.pm! :: Blog
Professional Services:: http://www.otrs.com :: enjoy@otrs.com
turnip